FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the function of the FP Write VI?

Hello, I'm currently a beginner getting familiar with LabVIEW. I'm trying to learn to utilize FieldPoint hardware and I came across the FP Write VI.

I'm wondering what exactly is the function of this VI in the context of using it with a PID controller. Is it reading the signals sent by the FP hardware, or is it telling the hardware to do something?

If someone could provide a simple explanation, I would be very grateful. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(7,156 Views)

It is telling an output card to output something.  Voltage on an analog voltage output module, or current on a analog current out, or a voltage on a digital output module.

FP Read reads the signals coming into fieldpoint input modules.

Message 2 of 10
(7,143 Views)

Thanks for the brief explanation, appreciate it very much. 

So just to get it straight, say I was using a PID controller for something, like voltage. I would use FP Read to read the voltage signals coming from my module, then I would apply my PID control algorithm to set the voltage coming in closer to my setpoint. And lastly, I would wire the output from my PID control algorithm and use FP Write to write that output back to my module. 

Does that seem correct?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(7,125 Views)

Yes.  An FP Read would read an analog input module to get the current value of whatever it is you are trying to control.  Also know out PV or process value.  Your PID algorithm uses the gain values (P proportional, I Integral, and D derivative) to determine what the output needs to be to try to bring the PV closer to the SV which is your Setpoint Value.  The difference between PV and SV is known as the error. The PID loop gives an output value which is often abbreviated as MV for manipulated value.  That is what you use FP write for to send out of an analog output module.