Feedback on NI Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Search subscription not working correctly.

I have a search subscription configured to search for yair OR tst -"tst wrote", which ideally should return mentions of me where people don't quote me directly. The idea is to get an email if I'm mentioned in a thread I haven't participated in.

My problem is that a considerable portion of the emails I get from this search are about posts which don't match the query. Here are the examples I still have in my trash:

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Static-Com-Port-Assignment/m-p/3309523#M968845

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Trace-Web-method-to-retrieve-the-trace-data/m-p/3309777#M968936

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Error-85-The-input-string-does-not-contain-data-in-the-expected/m-p...

http://forums.ni.com/t5/media/gallerypage/image-id/184036i519FA7CAE5BC2DB0

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Pilot-a-power-supply/m-p/3301501

I haven't been able to find a common reason for why it sends these false positives. You can also see that one of them is an image in a gallery and that they're not common (~1 email a week on average), so it's not super critical. I might even unsubscribe, since I haven't seen the results I'm looking for. Another minor point - the emails seem to be sent hours after the actual messages are posted, but I'm guessing this is being run as a scheduled job or something similar.

(4,331 Views)

Makes me wonder if the search is trying to be smart.  ie tst=test

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(4,329 Views)

That was my initial guess, but then I would expect to see many more hits.

(4,325 Views)

To slightly paraphrase what a wise person has recently told me