Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using compact daq to control a linear drive (stepper motor controller) through paralel cable

Hello

I am somewhat new to labview and working on a project to control a linear drive (I know C and machine language, but not labview). The drive is SMC LEFS with a LECP6 controller - LEFS and LECP6 datasheet (page 6).

This is a linear drive with a stepper motor and a controller with a option of control via a paralel cable (digital input and output signals). I connected all the signals to NI9425 and NI9476 cards.

My problem is that I don't know how to start.

I know all the sequences of the digital read and write signals for the operation of the drive (return to origin, absolute and relative moves, alarms,...). I just don't know how to approach the problem and where to begin... and for example how to buil a vi for a single operation, like return to origin (icorporates several readouts and writes of digital signal in a sequence).

I don't expect magic, but please give me some starting points, so that I may have at least some clue.

Thanks,

Best Regards,

Gregor Primc

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,282 Views)

Hello grega, 

there can be some problems with this application, because both of your modules do not support hardware timing. This makes them not ideal for digital communication, specially for parallel communication. However, depending on the speed of the communication you might be able to read some/most massages correctly. I would recommend to start with examples for digital measurements and communication provided with LabVIEW. You can find them in Help -> Find Examples in LabVIEW windows. Also using the search engine on our website for queries like "Digital Communication" or "Digital Measurement" will show you informative results.

Forum1.png