Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using NI PXIe 6544

Hi,

Im wondering how can I use NI PXIe 6544 to test chip like stated here (http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/8715). Im pretty new with labview, and I need to program the card using labview. Anyone have idea?

Btw, the digitizer card is NI PXI 5105. Any helps are really appreciated.

Yan.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,905 Views)

Hello Yan,

I will try and make this programming process as easy as possible.  From what I can tell you are using the PXIe-6544 and PXI-5105 to characterize a DAC.  What exactly are you trying to test though?  There is a Developer Zone that can help get you started with your programming.  The example in the Dev Zone assumes that you are using an NI power supply to power your DUT, but if that's not the case there is a second version of the code that doesn't include the power supply.  We can discuss things in further detail once we find out what it is you would like to test.

Regards,

Brandon Brice

High-Speed Digital I/O Product Marketing Engineer

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(5,894 Views)

Hi Brandon,

thanks for your reply and the link of developer zone. I'm not using any NI power supply, so I'll take a look at the example without NI power supply.

For the time being, I think I'm going to test ADC chip using NI card. Since I'm starting from scratch with labview, I'm pretty sure I'll need loads of examples from NI Labview.

My mentor asked me to make some programs at first:

1. High speed clock to test the chip (40Mhz).

2. Decimation filter to lower the sample rates.

3. Data Acquisition

4. Ramp Signal and FFT.

I've been searching for those examples in labview examples and this forum, and I've been getting this simple programs to run (in attachment). Now I need to put all together and using the NI cards that I have to test ADC (later).

The problem is, I dont have idea how to put all together to test a ADC chip. The idea is: