Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I use my NI 9401 to send a 5V signal to a solid state relay?

To start off, I am a complete novice to LabVIEW and I am working on my senior capstone project. Please, bear with me and I will try my best to help you help me.

I am wanting to use my NI 9401 to send a voltage to a solid state relay so that I can control the temperature of a heating element. Ideally what I want to do is:

1. LabVIEW sends voltage to relay.  

2. Relay turns on.

3. Heating element reaches desired temperature.

4. LabVIEW does some sort of pulse to maintain that temperature.

Right now I have one wire set inside of DIO 4 (or pin 20?) because I have read that 4:7 are for outputs. I also have another wire in the first COM slot (pin 1?).  I believe that these two wires will be placed in the "input signal" spots on the diagram below. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,159 Views)

Your description is not very clear for me. However, usually output lines of control boards do not have a 5V signal as required by a solid state relay. The output usually is "TTL compatible" which means that it may be anywhere between 2.8V and 5.0V in high state. 

Usually solid state relays are connected to an "open collector output". Most digital outputs can be used in this mode, too. You have to wire the (+) terminal of the relay to a 5VDC source (many boards have a 5VDC output - with limited current capacity, when using an external 5VDC source the GND terminal of the latter must be connected to GND or COM of the board). The (-) output goes to the digital output of the board. When wiring this way, logic states are inverted with respect to the relay operation. The relay will be ON when the digital output is in LOW state and will be OFF when the output is in HIGH state.