Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I use LabVIEW to output a digital signal?

I am rather new to LabVIEW and was trying to figure out how to get LabVIEW to output a digital signal from my PC-6221 DAQ card with the simple flip of a switch. I read through a previous post on the same question, and I just wanted to make sure I understand how it works fully.

So I added a new DAQ assistant to my pre-existing code and selected "Digital Output" and "Line Output". I then selected the port I wanted to use from the availble ports for the specific DAQ (For example, I selcted DIO3 for my first Boolean switch). DIO3 (accordign to a manual I have) corresponds to pin#20 on our 50 pin connector. So say for example, I have a black powder charge wired to the pin#20 on our connector, when I flip the boolean switch for that specific pin, it should send 5V to the black powder charge correct? (Our specfic DAQ outputs between 2 and 5 volts). It just seems to simple to me, and I was suspicious haha.

I attached a document of how I have the switches laid up. Currently, I have 7 switches (each set to a different port: DIO3, DIO4, etc.) to perform different tasks. So assuming the wiring is done correctly, this should work right?

Also, on a related note, I want to check for continuity for each of the swithces using LabVIEW before throwing them for safety reasons. How do I go about doing that?

THANKS!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,866 Views)