From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating a 10-bit signal through USB-6363

Solved!
Go to solution

Greetings,

I am needing to characterize a 10-bit DAC at work using Labview and the NI USB-6363. I have very little experience using Labview and need some direction in completing this task. We are only interested in the INL and DNL. What I have in mind is outputing the 10 binary signal to the DAC. The DAC's output is going to a digital multimeter that will be linked back to Labview via IEEE-488 to USB connection.

I have all this setup, I'm just getting lost with how to go about doing this in Labview. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,471 Views)

Hi joeyjojo,

The first thing to do to get started is to install the latest DAQmx drivers if you haven't done so already. They can be found here. Since you seem to be a new user, I highly recommend you going through some example code. You can find the example code after you install the DAQmx drivers by opening LabVIEW and navigating to Help -> Find Examples... . From here navigate to Hardware Input and Output -> DAQmx -> Digital Generation. This section includes all example code about digital generation, I recommend starting with Write Dig  Port.vi and Cont Write Dig Port-Int Clk.vi.

This DevZone here is also a great resource in getting started.

Regards,

Jason L.

Product Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,461 Views)

Thanks for the reply. I ran some of the examples and was able to verify that my device is working, but none of them were similar to what I need to do.