Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error 50405 using DAQ USB 6008 and LabVIEW 8.6.1

Hi there,

I am a student with very little knowledge of LabVIEW. I am trying to use the program to generate a digital output signal from a USB 6008 DAQ. The specific purpose is to turn a relay on and off. My VI can turn on all the necessary relays, but whenever I turn them off, I receive an error 50405 message saying specifically "No transfer is in progress because the transfer was aborted by the client. The operation could not be completed as specified." The error 50405 occurs at DAQmx Write (Digital 1D Bool NChan 1Samp 1Line).vi:10.

I appreciate any feedback. Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(6,816 Views)

Have you tried resetting your device?

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(6,801 Views)

Yes, I have reset the device as well as self tested it. Unfortunately that has not resolved the problem. I have tried changing the USB ports and cable as well but have not had any success.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(6,797 Views)

How about your LabVIEW code?  Have you written your own?  If so, I would recommend using an example VI from the NI Example Finder and see if that runs with your device correctly.  You can find this by opening LabVIEW and clicking Help and selecting Find Examples.

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(6,776 Views)

I have written my own. I will search the examples and see if that helps. Thanks for the suggestion.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(6,773 Views)

Do you have any electronics between the 6008 and your relay?

If it is a DC relay, do you have a reverse biased protection diode across the relay coil? If not, it could be the inductive spike glicthing your DAQ card when you turn the relay off. Without one, it may eventually damage your DAQ card and the PC.

-AK2DM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
Message 6 of 13
(6,770 Views)