Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating an analogue output from a digital input using NI9426 & NI9264

I am looking to develop a setup in Labview where I can view a digital pulse input from a speed sensor, display this value and then output a scaled analogue voltage corresponding to that speed. For example 0rpm would be 0V and 1000 rpm would be 5V. I am using a NI9426 as a digital input module and a NI9264 as the analogue output module.

Any advice would be greatly received, I am pretty new to this NI game!

Thanks,

Richard

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,789 Views)

9426 is not applicable in scan mode in this case, since scan mode maximum sampling rate is just 1k, and 9426 doesn't support frequency measurement in scan mode. You should start with LabVIEW FPGA. A lot of example is available in Help>>Find Examples>>Hardware Input and Output>>CompactRIO. Study FPGA examples in FPGA Fundamentals folder, and study examples in Module specific folder as well.

Message 2 of 6
(5,780 Views)

Hi r.youden,

I wrote a commented piece of code (DI to AO zip file) that I think performs what you want to do. I simulated your cRIO FPGA target and C-Series modules in my project. If you don't know how to do this, have a look here http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/F466AD83D24F041D8625714900709583 .

As KateB mentioned, I too encourage you to have a look through the LabVIEW examples found at Help > Find Examples (If you run LV 2012 or earlier you'll be able to see many more examples than in LV 2013. In 2013 all the old examples that didn't adhere to a certain standard have been removed). For your application, I think that the following examples would be useful: 1. Hardware Input and Output > CompactRIO > Module Specific IO > Digital Input > NI9375 Digital Line Input and Output and 2. Hardware Input and Output > CompactRIO > Module Specific IO > Analog Output > NI9265 Getting Started.