Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant pulse to digital output for simple failsafe?

I am new to Labview and CDAQ, and a mech engineer. Student is setting up system for me. Please excuse if simple...

We have CDAQ 9188 chasis, and DO 9472 (among other boards), driven by LabVIEW. One channel of DO is an "enable" for our external hardware system. I would like that line to go to "false" if network comm is lost. I know the CRIO has built-in network failsafe, but it appears CDAQ does not.

I am thinking something along the following lines. Is this possible?

Instead of a simple switched DO for system enable, if I send a "true" "pulse" to the output, say 5 seconds long, with length measured/set by CDAQ timer/counter system (internal timer? I don't want to have to provide a source signal externally) (this is where I get lost). The pulse would be "triggered" by a software signal from LabVIEW. Then, the pulse would be "retriggerable". I would "trigger" the pulse from LabView, say every 1 second. If this works like I imagine, then the output would stay "true" as long as LabView keeps sending triggers. If LabView, or the PC, or the network hangs, the triggers would stop, and 5 seconds later, the output would drop to "false".

Is this a possible thing? If so, can someone point me in the right direction (setup of the pulse, triggering)?

Thanks in advance

Chuck

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,369 Views)

ceandra wrote:

I am new to Labview and CDAQ, and a mech engineer. Student is setting up system for me. Please excuse if simple...

We have CDAQ 9188 chasis, and DO 9472 (among other boards), driven by LabVIEW. One channel of DO is an "enable" for our external hardware system. I would like that line to go to "false" if network comm is lost. I know the CRIO has built-in network failsafe, but it appears CDAQ does not.

I am thinking something along the following lines. Is this possible?