Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing to a different counter card yields no results

Hello,

I'm very new to Labview and so I was hoping that I might be able to get some help here. I've inherited a project and a lot of labview code, and as I piece through it I'm updating it, cleaning it up, and trying to modify it for new testing new products that we are releasing soon. I have a piece of code here that basically uses an NI PCI-6251 counter card to read in some digital waveforms. I'm trying to convert that code to work with the NI PCI-6602 counter card that we also have.

I basically pulled out the code that is at the base of our VI's that I need most and that has been causing me the biggest headaches. I have three I/O controls, NI6251/Ctr0, NI6251/Port0, NI6251/PFI12 and they work fine. When I switch them to NI6602/Ctr0, NI6602/Port0, NI6602/PFI12, then I get some errors having to do with the counter cards ability to sample.

Here is the error that I am getting:

Error - 200077 occurred at Property Node DAQmx Timing (arg 1) in DAQmx Timing (Sample Clock).vi:2->getwaveforms.vi

Possible reason(s):

Requested value is not a supported value for this property.

The property value may be invalid because it conflicts with another property.

Property: SampTimingType

Requested Value: Sample Clock

You Can Select: On Demand

Task Name: _unnamedTask<A2A4A>

When I try to select On Demand however from that dropdown menu, it is not listed. Any suggestions on what I need to do?

Thanks!

~Jason

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,343 Views)
As you can see from the specs, the digital I/O on the 6602 has software timing only. You cannot use the timing function at all to acquire a digital pattern. You acquire with a DAQmx Read in a loop. This sort of acquisition is slow and subject to quite a bit of jitter. The 6602 is a poor replacement if you need precise timing to acquire a digital signal with precise timing.
0 Kudos