Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change TTL level on rising edge of trigger signal only

Hello everyone and thanks in advance for taking the time to read this.

I am currently using a USB-6211 and LabVIEW XX, I am also relatively new to labVIEW and so would greatly appreciate some helpful hints! Anyway, my problem is to do with triggering and manipulating an input TTL signal so I have attached a timing diagram to this post, and will refer to it to explain my problem better. Here it is....

I have a 5V TTL signal from an optical chopper as an input to PFI0 on my board (green signal on diagram below). On alternating cycles of this chopper signal, I need to output a 5V TTL signal to open and close a shutter. Thus, what I really need to do is create a digital waveform that switches state on the rising edge of the input chopper signal (i.e.. the red signal on the diagram below). Is there a simple way to do this? I have been trying to figure this out all day!

The next part is really confusing me:

In addition to generating this shutter signal, I need to time a laser to switch on and simultaneously collect voltage data from a photodiode. The problem is that the laser illumination and voltage signal collection must start after the shutter signal has gone high, and it must end before the shutter signal goes low (to make things easy these delays will be the same, and 10% of the period of the green chopper signal). This is then further complicated (in my mind) since the original (green) chopper signal frequency can be changed between experiments. The required signal is shown in blue.

Now I know that once I have generated this signal, I can use the Pause Trigger Property Node to stop/start the photodiode data collection, and simultaneously I can route the signal to another PFI pin to control the laser. However, I have absolutely no idea how to generate this signal. My (scattered) thoughts were as follows: