From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Stamp Question

I think my first post looked like I was selling a Basic Stamp, I'm not.   I have this question:

I purchased a Basic Stamp in 1995 on the advice of the local high school electronics teacher. I got busy and he got busy and we never got my tachometer project built.  I have more time for this now and would like to use the Stamp. Is there a time limit to which the stamp will "keep it's program" . Do microcontrollers need to "keep a charge" to be usable. This stamp is still unopened in the original "cellophane" If I plug a 9v battery into it will I be able to tell if it is still usable. I am new to programming and the stamp didn't come with any instructions. The teacher has moved on but I'm finding lots of help on these forums. Any advice would be  appreciated.

Hobartboy  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,476 Views)

Hi, I just connected a Basic Stamp to labview. Are you still pursuing this?

Steve Aldrich

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(5,574 Views)

His last posts were in April of last year.  It is pretty safe to assume he is no longer frequenting these forums.

This is why we suggest opening a new thread to seek advice rather than revive an old thread.  Most of the active users tend to ignore revived threads as the question you have is likely entirely different than the original question posed.  It sounds like you want to interface with LabVIEW.  The original poster just wanted to know if the device would be expected to work out of the box after ten years of sitting in the box.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(5,549 Views)