From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

read data without loading the file in diadem?

hii guys,

the above mentioned  Q is a paradox,  but  if one has 100 files to be analyzed and  considering the time it takes to do that,  anyone will  try the same..

how do I read the .tdms file without  physically loading it. I have about 100 data files and have to work on each of them.

but diadem  takes a lot of time loading one  file  (about 20MB) . Work on its contents and then load another.

P.S. I am new to diadem scripting .

regards,

Akshay

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,991 Views)

Hello Akshay,

DIAdem offers two features to deal with this situation directly.

1. "Selective Opening" of files - this feature will only load a subset of your data channels from a file, based on your selection. This can reduce load times because only the data required for the operations you wish to execute in DIAdem will be loaded. This feature is especially useful when your file contains hundreds of signals, or if you have very long channels. This feature can be found in the "File Open ..." dialog in the NAVIGATOR and can be scripted.
  2. DIAdem also offers the ability to use files straight from disk. Go to "Settings: DIAdem Settings" and select the "Loading Behavior" setting. Make sure the setting there says "Load bulk data when changing channel data". The help system has a section on "Loading Bulk Data" in the NAVIGATOR help section that gives a lot more background.