From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lev-mar fitting in diadem

Hi,

I'm completely new to DIAdem.  I'm surprised that - from what I can see - there's no Levenberg-Marquardt (or equivalent) fitting routine for parametric fitting to nonlinear functions.  Is this right?  How can I give DIAdem this functionality?  Is Xmath an option for accomplishing this task?

Nick
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." - Inigo Montoya
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,517 Views)
Hi Nick,

Check out the DIAdem function ChnApprXYCalc (modul ANALYSIS -> Curve fitting -> Approximate) wich allows fitting to nonlinear functions. The function uses the Gauss method of least squares.

Christian
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,510 Views)
Thanks Christian,

But what if I want to fit to a slightly complicated lineshape, like a Lorentzian:

(gamma/2)/(pi*((x-x0)^2+(gamma/2)^2))

where x0 is the center of the Lorentzian peak and gamma is the FWHM?

LV has a Lev-Mar fitting routine that I've used many times for Lorentzians and all sorts of functions.  From what literature I've found, I have a hunch I can use the DIAdem GPI to incorporate the routine into DIAdem.  Of course, I must first export the routine as a DLL, but that's simple.  What do you think?  Is this feasible?  I know very little about the GPI at this point.

Nick
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." - Inigo Montoya
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,487 Views)

Hi Nick,

There is a GPI toolkit for add-on DIAdem DLL creation. If you have still Visual C++ 6.0 on your computer, you can also use a GPI-DLL wizard.