cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie question

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to DIAdem, I have gone through the basics, hand-on etc. But I have not been able to make much progress with my problem.

I was wondering if anyone can give me some pointers on how to proceed.

I have TDMS files being generated every hour for 90days. Yes a test lasts for 90days and there are mutilple stations!

There are different groups within each file and each group has its on LabVIEW timestamp.

I need to automate generation of some reports done daily, weekly and monthly etc.

So here are my thoughts:

combine 23 files using copy \b <hour0> + <hour2> ... <hour23> day.tdms

Then reduce the files by only taking every nth sample to form day_reduced.tdms.

Now combine all day_reduced to form month.tdms

I am not a big fan of duplicating data but I dont have much time to try things, Is the above ok?

Please help/comment!!

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(5,461 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author UnspecifiedError

Hi Unspecified,

Concatenating the TDMS files outside of DIAdem is certainly one good option-- the DOS concatenation option is pretty darn fast, but as you say that duplicates data.  Another option would be to reduce load each data file into DIAdem and concatenate them in the Data Portal.

Is there any way you can send or post several of these data files so I can see directly what you're dealing with?

Brad Turpin

DIAdem Product Support Engineer

National Instruments

brad.turpin@ni.com

Message 2 of 3
(5,444 Views)

@Brad_Turpin wrote:
Concatenating the TDMS files outside of DIAdem is certainly one good option-- the DOS concatenation option is pretty darn fast, but as you say that duplicates data.  Another option would be to reduce load each data file into DIAdem and concatenate them in the Data Portal.

Is there any way you can send or post several of these data files so I can see directly what you're dealing with?