DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help integrating .NET dll through LabView calls

I'll preface this with saying this is my first time trying to call Labview VI's from DIAdem, and more specifically, ones that are calling a DLL.

Ultimately, I will be using a much more complex DLL, but just to get my feet wet, I created a very simple calculator DLL.

I have a .dll that was created with C# targeting the .NET Framework 4.7 (I also tried building targeting .NET 4). I've created a Labview project containing this DLL and two simple VI's. One VI is some simple mathmatical operations to test my DIAdem calls to Labview with a simple VI and the other contains code to call the DLL. The VI calling the DLL uses the Constructor Node to create a reference to the DLL and then an Invoke Node to call the methods in the DLL, see image below.

Interface_Screenshot.png

In LabView, the "Interface.vi" VI runs just fine and calls the DLL as expected.

Then I tried running the same VI by calling it through DIAdem and I get the following error:

DIAdemError.png

Please see the attached script (TestInterface.VBS) that I am using to load the VI. Basically, I'm initiallizing the LVRuntime and then using LVRuntime.LoadVI. I read in the help, that to use a VI created in LabView with the Runtime environment, you need to build a Source Distribution, so I built one that includes the DLL and both VI's in the Labview project. However, when I try to run the script, the same error occurs. Then I tried loading the other VI that does not call a DLL ("SimpleTest.vi") and the script runs as expected for that VI (regardless if I'm using the raw VI or the source distribution).