From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting error trying to write values to channels in a dataplugin

I have a VBScript plugin. 

I'm getting an error trying to write data to channels that are formatted as eString or eTime. Attached is the error popup in MSE. I'm not sure what the issue is. I also tryed forcing type to other types (CStr, etc) and get other errors.

Attached are the error popup and MSE debug panel pics

I first created all my channels and saved arrays of the object references. I parsed all my data and now want to fill the empty channels with the data. The channel creation is working because they all show up in the portal if I don't try and write channel data.

I have an object to the channel and I'm using obj.Values correctly I think. You can see I'm trying to write the string  text="1" to the first channel object.

eString and eTime are enums so I don't think I can force the data to those types directly.
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,699 Views)
Ok. I have some of this figured out for text channel, but my issue is still with time channels.

If my channel is formatted as eTime, how do I coerce data to that type to add the data to the channel

I've tried:

CDbl ( error mismatch type 30 and VT_8)
CSgl ( error mismatch type 30 and VT_4)
CInt  ( Overflow)

If I use eR64 the channel add data works properly but my channel data is no longer in DateTime format.

Do I have to write the channel data in eR64 then somehow change the channel format?  
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,688 Views)
I resolved this by writing the data to the channel as eR64, then changing the channel display format to time using , channelObj.Properties.Add("displaytype","time")
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7