From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DASYLab

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

real time import

Hi everybody,

I'm a student using DASYLab 9 on a test bench. I get data from sensor in MATLAB and want to import this data to DASYLab to control a piezo actuator. Saving the MATLAB data as an ASCII file and importing it later in DASYLab or the other way round with a .ddf file is no problem.

But because everything should be running simultaneously I'm looking for a possibility of importing the data in real-time to DASYLab. I didn't find anything in the manuals or in this forum yet that could really help me.

Does DASYLab have the possibility of real-time data importing or should I try focusing on getting both the sensor and actuator control in one programm e.g. either DASYLab or LABView or MATLAb?

I'm thankfull for any advice!

Greetings

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,978 Views)

For any type of control application, you should have the inputs and outputs in one program. It doesn't matter which program, although PC based control is typically slow ( 100 ms closed loop control is possible ). 

But, possibilities for interprocess communication -- DDE, OPC, or NI DATASOCKETS. DDE is client/server program to program, the OPC and DATASOCKETS require a server. DASYLab ships with the NI DATASOCKETS server and is a client. 

Measurement Computing (MCC) has free technical support. Visit www.mccdaq.com and click on the "Support" tab for all support options, including DASYLab.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,969 Views)

Thanks CJ for the quike answer!