DASYLab

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCP-IP ICOM is too slow?

Hello everybody,

I am new to DasyLab (I have good experience with labview though) and am trying to build up a TCP-IP Connection between a PLC and DasyLab10 using the ICOM module . So far I managed to build up a connection and send measured data to dasylab. There it gets decoded correctly and it even displays correctly after some fine-tuning in the options of that ICOM module. But the problem is, the ICOM module works too slow for my TCP-Server.

I have two channels so far and I do send pakets with 2 floats in it every millisecond. No delimiter, no string, nothing else just 8 bytes. So its around 8kB/s. I had different delimiter in it, but some people stated out, that this could slow down the interpretation process.
I tinkered around with packet-size on Dasylab as well as sending more then 2 floats per TCP-packet with no effect. The TCP-connection gets shut down(the server does it, because of an error) within some seconds after the buffer of DasyLab filled up.

I got it working so far for a sample-rate of 1kHz and the packet-size of 1 with maximum CPU-Load on one core (With the "One Measurement per"-option: Gathermode), but only when the line-plotter is minimized. Then it behaves almost as intended. When I increase the packet-size within the ICOM module, than its gets laggy again, but the CPU-Load drops significantly. It seems to process the data considerably slower then with a packet-size of 1. It takes the ICOM Module between 2-10 seconds to process 1 sec of data depending on packet-size with higher packet-size resulting in a slower process. IThe global data-rate and packet-size does not seem to have any influence on that laggyness.