Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increase rate of frequency measurement

Hello,

I'm new to Labview. I'm trying to measure the speed of a motor using a rotary encoder coupled to the shaft.

There I use DAQ Assistant to acquire counter input which gives me the frequency of rotation. Then I just multiply 60 to get the speed. That's fine and works well.

But, when I save the data using write to measurement, I get only 4-5 samples per second. Whereas, I need at least 300-400 samples per second. Even if I run from the DAQ Assistant setup I can see that the update rate is very slow.

I'm using a 9401 in slot 5 on a cDAQ-9188 chassis. I have attached figures of my configuration.

My deadlines are closing in, any help is appreciated.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,759 Views)

@priteem wrote:

I get only 4-5 samples per second. Whereas, I need at least 300-400 samples per second.

You need to learn about reality here and the fact that it takes time to take a measurement.  You have a range of 10mHz to 30Hz.  This means that it should take between 33ms and 100s to get a pulse.

Assuming you are getting 4S/s, then each measurement is taking 250ms.  So the counter just counts how many pulses it sees in that 250ms and gives you a frequency reading from that.  That is just how the measurements work.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 9
(4,749 Views)

Well, thank you for your answer.

I'm using a rotary encoder which gives me 2500 pulses per revolution. Is there any way I can use Labview to get the average frequency every 100 pulses or so?  I mean 100 pulses should be enough for measurement.

This would be a great help.

Thank You.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,733 Views)

@priteem wrote: