Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous Buffered Edge Counting with the NI PCI 6602 using multiple counters

Dear Community,

I am new to the DAQmx developement and I have a basic problem which raises some questions. The situation is quite simple: I want to perform, as indicated, a continuous buffered edge counting using multiple counters. I have read some documentation and from what I am given to understand there are some subtleties involved. 

I started with the "Count Digital Events-Buffered-Continuous-Ext Clk.vi", which is provided by NI. Here is my first question: I get the "data was overwritten before it could be read by the system", using the VI without modification. What are the possible sources of this error? I am given to understand that there is a limit to this, this limit seems to depend on how fast you can read out the so called FIFO buffer, and that this is limited by the number of counters you use. Is there any specific documentation or some example VIs who address this kind of problem? If I could get my hand on information on how exactly the buffer readout process works and how it changes when you employ different kinds of read out situations occur I would be helped a lot.

Thank you in advance!

Cheers Kai

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(7,408 Views)

dear kai,

you are discribing a fifo overflow. It depends on the fifo size and the transfer rate of your device. If you want to know the transfer rate of your device, you can have a look in the manual (http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/372119c.pdf) on page 2-8.

Maybe this knowlegebase will help you a little bit: http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/A224DA0551EEA073862574F60060AB6F?OpenDocument

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/CEC4263BC5D02DA88625737D006FE5EE

regards 

hofstk

Message 2 of 10
(7,379 Views)

This has been very helpful! Thank you very much! So let me get this straight: