From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to find a fault on the circuit

having a problem to get an output on this ciruit......The input parameters are of 5v peak to peak and the frequency is 1 Mhz......Can some one pls rectify the fault in this cct and give an explanation where I was wrong as I am new to this software and dont have any idea

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,468 Views)

Hi Karan,

The function generator is connected to a capacitor then to a DC source (V2) so that node will always be high, your circuit was not correctly wired. To troubleshoot any circuit, start at the input and use the instruments to the nodes voltage making the get the right output, do this until you reach the output, this generally how you find problems.

Tien P.

National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(6,460 Views)

mr Tien

I tried the option, and I removed the capacitor,so as to check if I can get an output,

a) the capacitor only blocks DC so should not have any problem with the AC circuitry

b)When I removed the capacitor now the oscillator an output signal but with no frequency or voltage......there is just a single line tha is displayed

c) Im still stuck with it, can u pls help me out?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(6,450 Views)

Hi,

The function generator has two pins, the top pin is the Sync and the bottom is the Output. You connected the output signal to ground and used the Sync pin as the input signal that means you will get a pulse between 0V and 5V. You usually don't use this pin.