Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to define W and L for each mos transistor on the shematic?

Hi, I am new to Multisim and wondering if anyone can give me some help here. Thanks!

What I am trying to do is, I want to use Multisim to run a spice simulation with custom mos models. What I did was:

1) use Component Wizard to create a new component. Assume it is called myNMOS;

2) select "simulation only";

3) select single section component; number of pins: 4;

4) for symbol, I used "copy from DB"'. I selected the symbol of "MOS_4TEN_VIRTUAL" as the symbol. Symbol set "ANSI";

5) Set pin parameter;

6) select simulation model. Here I copy and paste my own mos model, which is shown partially below:

.subckt myNMOS d g s b params: w=1e-6 l=1e-6 ad=0 as=0 pd=0 ps=0 nrd=0 nrs=0 m=1
* variables: w,l,ad,as,pd,ps,nrd,nrs = standard mosfet parameters
*            m = multiplier
m1 d1 g s b newmos w={w} l={l} ad={ad} as={as} pd={pd} ps={ps} nrd={nrd} nrs={nrs} m={m}
rd d1 d {(1.841e+03*6.000e-07/(w+(-7.000e-07)))/m} tc=2.500e-03,6.000e-06  

.model newmos nmos level=7

***** here model detail is not shown here ********

.ends myNMOS

7) Set pin mapping;

😎 Add family and finsihed;

But when I tried to use this newly defined component, I found that I have no way to define my parameters such as W, L, etc on the schematic. Assume there are 10 myNMOS transistors, they use the same model but each has their own W, and L. How do I do that? As you can see these parameters are supposed to be passed to the individual transistor in real application.

I think this is a very basic function. Multisim must have already taken care of it. I just do not know how. What did I miss here?

Thanks!

Sean

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(8,968 Views)

Hi Sean,