Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

custom device with custom VI curve

hello,

I'm new to Multisim and I'm trying to do something that I haven't been able to find in none of tutorials nor this forum. is there a way to construct a custom device that has a custom VI curve? basically what I'm looking for is to have a two-terminal block with a particular V-I characteristic (I'm trying to simulate a two-terminal memory device with V-I curve that looks like a typical hysteresis curve). 

also, once I have a couple of those devices, can I save a file and later use that file (with multiple devices) as a module in another file? thanks a bunch.

r. 

hysteresis-curve.png 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,354 Views)

Hi Rob,

There is a Voltage Hysteresis Block component in the database and it's in the "Sources" group under the "Control Function Block" family.  You can use the hysteresis component along with a voltage control current source to build to a circuit that behaves like the hysteresis graph.  This is the basic circuit.

Hysterisis.JPG

Tien P.

National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,338 Views)

Tien,

looks like this is exactly what I need. by the way, if I was to encapsulate this block (file) as a single device, with inputs and outputs (sort of like SubVI in LabVIEW). how can I do this? thanks.

r. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(4,334 Views)

Hi Rob,

You can set this circuit up as a hierarchical Circuit and put it into the schematic whenever you need it, but unfortunately, you won't be able to save the circuit to your database as a custom component.  The hysteresis component is base on XSPICE and the voltage control current source is a SPICE model, you can't build a custom component with two different models.

Tien P.

National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(4,313 Views)

Thien,

as always, thanks for responding. I got that module part.