Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ultiboard copper area and tracks

I am using Ultiboard 10.0.1 for a while now. I have a lot of experience with other layout systems.

Currently I am trying to route a board manually. I try to connect the pad of an SMD part to a copper area. The copper area has some heat-transfer vias. The net the SMD pad is connected to and the copper area have the same name.

When I try to route the track from the pad to the copper area I see a ratsnet line from the end of the track to the next via of the copper area. I can connect the pad to this via. However, there is always a void around the track.

When I set the track clearance to zero the void disappears. But since the shape of the copper area uses a polygon and the end of the track is round (or much better "rounded" than the shape of the copper area) there are always small voids visible on the screen.

Is there any way to avoid the voids between a copper track and a copper area with same name WITHOUT setting the clearance to zero? Also, what will happen with the small voids around the rounded end of the track when the board is actually manufactured?

BTW when I rename the copper area to a random name and set it back to its original name sometimes the voids around the track disappear completely, even if the clearance is set to the default of 10 mils. I am not sure whether this a reliable method.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,057 Views)

Hi,

could you please attach a picture or Ultiboard programm, so that I can see what you mean?

Thank you,

Regards,

Nina

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,842 Views)

Hi,

I don't know if this was solved allready?

What you could try: instead of using the follow routing (Ctrl-T), try drawing a line in copper (CTRL-SHIFT-L)

The you draw a copper line as you would want your track.

If after this you get a design rule fault, try to analyse it (eg showing the clearances)