Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A design analysis question

The purpose of this circuit is to control a fan using a temperature sensor. When the sensor reaches 50C, the fan turns ON. When the sensor drops below 49C, the fan turns OFF.

A comparator is used to detect when the sensor's output has reached 500mV. The output of the comparator then signals the transistor to enable the fan.

I have limited experience with electronics. I would like some help finding a solution, but I would prefer to learn as I go. So I would like to ask a few questions.

Does the transistor need to create a voltage drop (~12V) across the fan for it to operate?
I'm not sure how to determine R[Load] of the fan for the purpose of configuring the transistor. The specs of the fan are 12VDC, 0.45A.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,423 Views)

Speedyg8 ,

Could you please print your schamatic in PDF or copy to MS Word in order I can open it without using multisim 10?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,389 Views)

Hello. See the attached MS file.

Question: Does the transistor need to create a voltage drop (~12V) across the fan for it to operate? Answer: Yes if you want it to run at maximum speed (12 V @ 0.45 mA). The motor will work fine even if you don't have a 12 V voltage drop.

Question: I'm not sure how to determine R[Load] of the fan for the purpose of configuring the transistor. The specs of the fan are 12VDC, 0.45A. Answer: Rload can be calculated with Ohms Law, R = U / I, R = 12 V / 0.45 A = 26.66 Ohm. Put a resistor with that value instead of the motor when you are simulating. If you connect Rload between 12 V and ground (0 V) you will get a current that is 0.45 A. If you put a transistor between Rload and ground to switch it on/off there are a couple of things to remember:

1) The collecor on the transistor must be connected to ground in this design or else it will not work. I have rotated it.