From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

transistor diode clamp

I am very new to multisim, and I am trying to model a portion of this circuit: http://www.ti.com/lit/an/snoa600a/snoa600a.pdf

Scroll down to figure 10, "Son of Godzilla Booster." The portion that I am trying to model is the transistor diode clamp at Q5 and the 1N4148 diode. This circuit is supposed to protect the compensation pin number 9 in the lm3524 switching regulator from receiving more than 4v. Taking a look at the datasheet for the LM3524DN, when pin number 9 sees 1v, it runs at 0% duty cycle, and when it sees 4V, it runs at maximum (45%) duty cycle. I am building this circuit in lab, and after building that part of the circuit, the clamp cuts off at about 5.4 volts instead of 4V as i scroll voltage up past 5V on my power supply. 

I have modeled this circuit in multisim, and I have V1 used to represent the 411 opamp voltage output into the 2K resistor, and I have a 15 volt DC source to represent the +15 supply to the 10K resistor. 

My multisim model complies quite well with reality and I am wondering if I need to select different resistor values so they will actually limit my voltage to only 4v, OR if there was a good reason for making the cutoff 5.5 volts.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,836 Views)

Stickshifted,

Do you have a partial circuit you can share?  This will make it much easier to try out and assist compared with trying to recreate your work up to this point.

You should be able to post any Multisim file as an attachment.

Regards,

Pat Noonan

NI  

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,819 Views)

Sorry about that, here is both a jpeg image of my circuit, as well as the multisim file

Download All
0 Kudos