Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1 . How to install MultiSim ( Students version ) in Ubuntu 12.04 .

1 . Greetings to the National Instruments message forum website facility .

2 . I am an Electronics and Communication engineer graduate in the 2011 batch .

3 . I have Ubuntu 12.04 and recently installed Wine to support the MultiSim executable installation facility . After download of the required files from the ' .exe ' executable , a message window ( Wine configuration ) on the screen shows an error saying ' Bad format ' .

4 . Therefore I would like to get guidance from the Application Engineers for the MultiSim installation on Ubuntu 12.04 .

5 . This help guideline was recommended by Mahmoud Wahby, M.Sc | Product Marketing Engineer - National Instruments Toronto . 

Message 1 of 15
(53,970 Views)

Hi,

It is not possible to install Multisim on Ubuntu. Multisim is a Windows application and thus does not have the capability to be run on another operating system. The supported Windows operating systems as mentioned in the release notes are listed below:

"To run NI Circuit Design Suite 12.0, your OS must be one of:
• Windows XP 32-bit edition.
• Windows Vista 32-bit or 64-bit edition.
• Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit edition.
• Windows Server 2003 R2 (32-bit) or 2008 R2 (64-bit) edition.
Note Circuit Design Suite 12.0 does not support Windows NT/Me/98/95/2000,
Windows XP x64, or the Windows Server non-R2 editions."

If there is a way that you can have a Windows virtual machine on Ubuntu with one of the supported Windows versions, you should be able to install Multisim on that.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Tayyab R,
National Instruments.
Message 2 of 15
(53,961 Views)

1 . Even with Wine is it not possible ?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(53,949 Views)

Hi,