Certification

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How worthwhile to get CLA?

Hi,

I am a graduate student in the US and trying to evaluate if it is worthwhile to take the CLA exam before my graduation.

There are two main reasons for me to raise this question:

(1) I love LabVIEW and I am full of passion when developing LabVIEW API, GUI, demo,etc. I am hoping that my job could be LabVIEW software engineer in future.

(2) I got my CLAD in 2011 and obviously it is not strong enough for job hunting. So I went a step further and got my CLD in 2013. A few companies started to contact me about some job opportunities but they hesitated after knowing my foreign status because H1-visa sponsorship is required.

So I would like to get an understanding that how competitive a CLA is for seeking a job in industry. I understand that CLA does not guarantee a job becuase other aspects will also be considered. But I would definitely have a try if CLA can greatly increase the competitiveness.

Thanks in advance!

Chuan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(7,520 Views)

It greatly helped me when I decided to move on.  But even before that, my former company was using me as a marketing tool: "We have one of the two CLAs in Ohio" (there's now 4 of us, possibly a fifth coming if he passed his exam about a month ago).

But the best part of being a CLA is the CLA Summit.  Imagine 100+ LabVIEW geeks getting together to talk about whatever we decide ahead of time.  It is lots of fun and you will learn a lot as well.  NI holds one at their headquarters in Austin and then one somewhere in Europe.  This years Euro Summit is at CERN (I'm jealous).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 9
(7,503 Views)

Hi Chuan,