BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

brainstorming about carrier options; should I learn a second computer language? :)

Hello,

I would like to ask the opinion of those who are more experienced and more aware of recent trends in industry + R&D. One thing which comes to my mind recently, is whether it would be useful to master a second computer language beside LV? The other thing in the present is that, I often brainstorm about where I should lead my carrier in the close future?

I am a 37 y old physicist by qualifications (MSc and PhD in physics) but recently I would say, work more as a "technician"/LV programmer in a research center doing some technical physics experiments. This involves a little project management (meaning some paperwork to give reports for the budget responsibles), building up experimental rigs, programming them usually with LabVIEW (otherwise other colleagues manage this part using Siemens platforms, PLCs and PCS7 soft). Also, I supervise ongoing experiments/projects, analyzing data, and writing either publications (or supporting others writing them) or giving reports. So in a nutshell, this is the kind of work environment I am in the last 6-7 years until today, lets say.

Before this part of my carrier, I worked on my PhD topic/thesis from 2006 to ~2010. I learned solid state physics, and the actual PhD work was related to a mainly application oriented topic of non-destructive analysis of steel components used in the industry (Barkhausen-noise). This meant developing measurement equipment mainly for laboratory tests, but also examining available industrial application, and comparing these approaches to the theoretical findings/models in the literature. Beside performing experiments, I developed some simple numerical tools for data analysis using ANSI C, and I did some basic computer simulation work (also C - non-object oriented) to compare theoretical models with my experimental data.