NI Home > Community > NI Discussion Forums

BreakPoint

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Knight of NI
altenbach
Posts: 27,973

Solving a 3x3 linear system of equations

[ Edited ]
To solve a 3x3 system of linear equations takes an...
  • 18 frame sequence
  • 48 local variables
  • 18 sequence locals.
Then we need to run it in "continuous mode" and press the button for each recalculation.
 
Somehow, I don't want to see the code to solve the 10x10 case!!! :smileysurprised:
 

 

Message Edited by altenbach on 10-30-2007 11:09 AM


LabVIEW Champion . Do more with less code and in less time .

Trusted Enthusiast
chilly_charly
Posts: 3,439
0 Kudos

Re : Rube Goldberg Code

[ Edited ]

A classic one ?

What's less classic is that this piece of code was produced by an application engineer at NI :smileysurprised:

This being said, the LabVIEW Text-To-Speech example was great  !

Message Edité par chilly charly le 11-01-2007 06:26 AM

Chilly Charly    (aka CC)

         E-List Master - Kudos glutton - Press the yellow button on the left...        
Knight of NI
altenbach
Posts: 27,973
0 Kudos

Re: Re : Rube Goldberg Code

Of course this needs to be done every 10ms while the program is not really doing anything useful. :smileyvery-happy:


chilly charly wrote:
This being said, the LabVIEW Text-To-Speech example was great  !

I agree, Pretty cool! :smileyhappy:

It does not work correctly on my PC under LabVIEW 8.5. The step 2 property node generates an error because the "disable items" receives a "-1". Thus the "devices" field remains empty. The "get audio devices" does not properly propagate the error, but actually clears the error without returning any devices. To fix this, the error cluster in the FOR loop (inside "get audio devices") needs to use a shift register. (A FOR loop with zero iterations returns the default data (no error!) on an output tunnel, but would returns the input value on a shift register).

It works fine if I simply delete the error wire going into the "get audio devices".


LabVIEW Champion . Do more with less code and in less time .

Trusted Enthusiast
chilly_charly
Posts: 3,439
0 Kudos

Re : Re: Re : Rube Goldberg Code

[ Edited ]
On my MacBook Pro (running LV 8.5 under WinXP with Fusion from VMware...), I had no problem, except the first run, when I forgot to select explicitely the only audiocard emulated on my machine. So nothing to remove, nothing to change (I even left the beautifull piece of code that I reproduced in the last post !):smileyvery-happy:

Message Edité par chilly charly le 11-01-2007 08:17 AM

Chilly Charly    (aka CC)

         E-List Master - Kudos glutton - Press the yellow button on the left...        
Active Participant
shoneill
Posts: 1,545

Re: Re : Rube Goldberg Code

CC,

firstly, I'm happy to see you taking a more active role in the forums again.  Welcome back!

There have been quite a few pieces of code posted in this thread with a boolean constant wired to some kinf of "If true then.." structure.

I have to admit that I'm sometimes guilty of that too.  During programming, it's occasionally not quite clear which "polarity" the signals should have to produce the required effect in a given situation.  This is a (quick and dirty) way to allow a quick "swapping" of the polarity if it's found to be wrong in the first place.

Of course one could argue that it should be found out once and replaced with a simple boolean constant, but sometimes the time is too short for such niceties.

My name is Shane, And I'm a Goldberger. >Phew< I feel kind of relieved to get that off my chest....... :smileytongue:
Using LV 6.1 and 8.2.1 on W2k (SP4) and WXP (SP2)
Knight of NI
Ray.R
Posts: 10,586

Re: Re : Rube Goldberg Code



shoneill wrote:

My name is Shane, And I'm a Goldberger. >Phew< I feel kind of relieved to get that off my chest....... :smileytongue:


LOL!!  We'll have to start the Goldberger Anonymous  Wireworkers (GAW) thread!  :smileyvery-happy:
______________________________________________________________________
Kudos!!!! Gimme Kudos!!!! It's that little golden star on the left below my avatar... :smileyhappy:
Active Participant
craigc
Posts: 376

Re: Rube Goldberg Code

My Name is Craig and im a goldberger, i have stayed clear of array size wiring of for loops and I have now been using auto indexing as a substitute for over 6 months! :smileyvery-happy:
LabVIEW 2012
Trusted Enthusiast
TCPlomp
Posts: 3,097

Re: Rube Goldberg Code

Hi Greg
Free Code Capture Tool! Version 2.1.3 with comments, web-upload, back-save and snippets!
Nederlandse LabVIEW user groep www.lvug.nl
My LabVIEW Ideas

LabVIEW, programming like it should be!
Knight of NI
altenbach
Posts: 27,973

Re: Rube Goldberg Code

[ Edited ]
Here's a way to do some hex formatting on a simple number. Of course it does not produce the desired result, but that's a side issue. At least this will scale very well to multicore CPUs because of all the duplicate parallel data paths. :smileysurprised: (just kidding!).
 
 


Message Edited by altenbach on 11-16-2007 10:16 AM

LabVIEW Champion . Do more with less code and in less time .

Trusted Enthusiast
chilly_charly
Posts: 3,439

Re : Rube Goldberg Code

[ Edited ]

I think I could win a prize with this one :

The conversion of a series of 60 chars received on a serial port could be done with the following code,

but was attempted with the code below. Of course it didn't work...

Adapted from this thread

 



Message Edité par chilly charly le 11-19-2007 04:39 PM
Chilly Charly    (aka CC)

         E-List Master - Kudos glutton - Press the yellow button on the left...