BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discussion: Automated Test Script Architecture for HIL Systems

Hello everyone,

I'm posting this because I really want to get some in depth discussion and opinions from other professionals about how they have implemented automated testing.  Not as it relates directly to National Instruments hardware/software but testing as a whole.  There seems to be a lot of information on HIL system architecture and real-time testing in general but I never see a lot of topics on architectures for developing automated test scripts and fitting them all together to completely test a piece of software.  Maybe I just haven't found the right place to look (if that's the case please post a link!).

My Background

I have been doing HIL testing in one form or another for the past several years.  I've used and seen many different sets of hardware/software including some proprietary systems to automate testing.  I've used a number of hardware and software tools such as the listed here:

Hardware: National Instruments, dSPACE, Opal RT

Software: LabVIEW, VeriStand, CVI, ControlDesk/AutomationDesk, Matlab/Simulink, Python

I've also used other "random" pieces of hardware such as USB controlled relays and some proprietary test systems.

The goal, for me, has always been to automate the entire test so that someone can click "run" and walk away.  These tests have typically been designed as a regression style test that attempts to black box test the controls software, diagnostics and fault reactions, and corner cases that a typical user may never encounter.

In my positions, there has been little opportunity for me to get a good feel for how other testers in industry go about implementing and designing there test setup (especially from an automated script side).

So that's where I come from.  Now onto.. The Topic.

The Topic

The question really is,

How do you implement your automated testing?

and