Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

use CAN or DNET API ?

Hello,

I have few programs that are using DNET VIs on a PCMCIA-CAN card. migrating to windows 7 requires that we move to usb CAN card but our program uses DNET VIs and USB device net is not available through NI. 

will a USB-CAN card work with my current program that uses DNET VIs and a DNET dongle, or do i need to make CAN VIs to provide same functionality with or without using the Dongle.

I am new to CAN and DNET, 

as i understand it DNET is the application layer for CAN, does it mean that the CAN signals i recieve from the source machine are converted into some easily readable format by that dongle and DNET VIs instead of the HEX bytes, IDs and timestamps that the CAN signals are recieved.

if so is there a way to do away without using the dnet api and dongle and somehow convert CAN signals into meaningful information with some CAN API if its available. Is this a significant programming effort to do with CAN what the dnet already does?

any help is appreciated

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,057 Views)

Hi Freemason,

I assume you are using one of the older, Series 1 PCMCIA-CAN cards

Newer CAN devices are not compatible with the NI-Industrial Communications for DeviceNet or NI-DNET driver.  If you are interested in upgrading from the PCMCIA-CAN cards to perform DeviceNet, I would recommend using the new NI-DeviceNet cards, as they are support and have ongoing driver updates.  These cards are shown here: https://www.ni.com/en-us/shop/category/industrial-communication-buses.html  The recommended upgrade path from PCMCIA is to go with the cRIO and the NI 9882 DeviceNet card.  However, if you have a Desktop computer, then the PCI-DeviceNet card can be useful for your application.