From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing Communication of Single Node with Oscilloscope

Hello,

I'm very new to CAN bus technology I hope I have a simple question:

There is a communication fault between the ABS module and PCM of my vehicle.  I have tested the physical layer and everything appears to be fine (good continuity, no shorts wire to wire or to ground or power).  I would like to see if the ABS module is sending any messages to the network.

Can I disconnect all other modules from the network and terminate the twisted pair with a 120ohm resistor at the PCM end (disconnected from the actual PCM of course)  and then view the signal of CAN-H and CAN-L on the scope?

With the reading I've done so far I see that the node will not transmit if it's seeing a dominate state from another module.  I'm unsure if having no voltage from a second node would be seen as a dominant or recessive state, or perhaps some fault in which case nothing is transmitted?

As a follow up question, is there any change I could damage the ABS module transceiver by terminating with a resistor only?

Your time is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(8,761 Views)