From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI 9862 CAN sending J1939 message to a non-Ni device

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone, 

I’m new to NI CAN and try to communicate CAN 9862 (high speed with NI 9171 chassis) with a 3rd party device, a steering column. I'm having trouble sending message of J1939 format to the steering column. 

The steering column transmits the torque and force data with its built in sensors. After proper connection, the steering column, with CAN messages encoded, will send the CAN data to the CAN bus automatically when turn on the power supply.  I can observe the data on NI-Bus Monitor without loading database files.

Also, on the other side, I need to send a message to the CAN bus to control the mode of the steering column. The message is in J1939 format. I need to change 1 bit of the message data, actually bit 7 of byte 5 to be 0 or 1 to switch the mode and then receive the data that the steering column is transmitting. There will be significant difference in the torque data received if the bit value is 1.  

To achieve this, I created 2 database files using the NI-Max, under Data Neighborhood, CAN channels, setting the specific bit value to be 0 or 1 in the two database files.

I used the labview NI-XNET example, CAN Frame Input Stream.vi to read the data, loading the database file in the CAN Cluster I/O. However, after I tried to load the 2 database files in two trials, I didn’t notice any difference in the output data, although the program ran without error.