Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Establish a LIN-Bus connection with USB-8476

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Labview and LIN-Bus, have read the LIN-Spec, the Hardware Manual and a lot of threads but am still stuck.

The situation is as follows:
I want to use a 8476-module and Labview 2013 to communicate with a product

The module is connected (via USB) to the PC and recognized by MAX. I assigned Port: LIN0 and Baudrate: 19200 (as specified for the product).

The connector of the product has the following pins:

• 12 V plus potential
  • 12 V ground
  • LIN
  • Interlock in
  • Interlock out

I connected the 12V+ to VBat; the 12V- to both ground Pins and LIN to LIN. Also I connected a 12V-power supply (5A max) to the 12V+ and 12V-. So the first question is: is this it? Here it seems like some resistors and diodes need to be added; but as I read it from the NI-CAN Hardware and Software Manual, 4-26, this isn't needed on NI USB-Lin products.

I'm assuming that everything is correct by the means of hardware and will proceed.

I want the 8476 (or more specifically the .vi) to be the master, because I want to control the product. My understanding is, that this is possible with the example .vi's (e.g. LIN Master Send Header Frame an Receive.vi), by simply sending an ID (or more correctly: a Frame Header) to the BUS and having my product react to it. Is it that simple?

I had an ldf coming with the product, where the frames and signals are described:

LIN_description_file;
LIN_protocol_version = "2.0";
LIN_language_version = "2.0";
LIN_speed = 19.2 kbps;
Nodes {
	Master: PC, 5 ms, 0.2 ms;
	Slaves: ..., HEIZER;
}
Signals {
	Geraet_ein: 1, 0, PC, GERAET;
	Temp_Sensor: 8, 254, GERAET, PC;
}
Diagnostic_signals {
}
Frames {
	Ger_01: 28, PC, 4 {
		Geraet_ein, 8;

Ger_02: 48, GERAET, 8 {
		Temp_Sensor, 48;
}
}
}
Diagnostic_frames {

Node_attributes {
	GERAET {
		LIN_protocol = 2.0;
		configured_NAD=0x5F;