Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about AF

Hi,

I am new to AF. I got that there is a Root Actor, I launch it, then it can spawn for example 2 nested actors.

1. FIRST QUESTION: COMMUNICATION

The communication happens in hierarchy way through the "tree" : Root <-> Nested-Actor1, and Root <-> Nested-Actor2 (2-way communication via actor's queue, where I send Message objects).
I read that it is possibile to create a "graph" communication, that is for example Nested-Actor1 <-> Nested-Actor2, but must be managed manually.

I am afraid to do this, expectially as regard the lifespan of objects (I am not confident of my knowledge), because I am sure that glitches will happen when I send Stop, some VI will go out of memory and some messages will hang/not processed, etc...

So first I want to know why NI chose the hierarchy way, and if there are use case for the "graph" way. Or if any software can be made "hierarchical", so can I always reduce my architectute to a communication that goes only via parents-child way.

2. SECOND QUESTION: DEBUG

Then I would like to know how to debug AF projects, because I can't debug VI clones, I can't follow data and events are more complex than simple QMH. I have LV2015SP1.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,714 Views)

Ironman_ wrote:

I am afraid to do this, expectially as regard the lifespan of objects (I am not confident of my knowledge), because I am sure that glitches will happen when I send Stop, some VI will go out of memory and some messages will hang/not processed, etc...

So first I want to know why NI chose the hierarchy way, and if there are use case for the "graph" way. Or if any software can be made "hierarchical", so can I always reduce my architectute to a communication that goes only via parents-child way.

There are many reasons.  Here are a few.