Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deployment in a network

Hello,

I started learning the actor framework and made some progress. My next task is about controlling and grabbing data from two cDAQ systems connected via Ethernet and two GigE cameras plus UI and data processing on another machine. So this would be a case for Network Endpoint Actors... I think.

Now I'm trying to understand the example that comes with it, i.e. the two chat windows communicating either through network streams or TCP/IP directly. It runs fine on one machine.

What I can't figure out is, how to modify/deploy the example with two computers. Can I just copy the whole project to another machine and modify the launcher?

How would I approach a project with a larger number of clients? It seems a bit silly to copy a bunch of irrelevant stuff, like UI and everything else contained in the project, to, say, a DAQ machine.

Maybe it's obvious, but I don't get it... Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,344 Views)

The chat window example is just that - an example.  Study it to see how nested endpoints work.  You won't use anything from Chat Window.lvlib in your actual code.

For your project, you'll want to create a remote proxy actor.  This actor has all of the messages you will need to send between your two computers, but the methods those messages invoke are virtual, i.e.e they are dynamic dispatch methods that don't have any code on their block diagrams.

Let's assume your two computers are called Host and Target.

Create a child of your remote proxy for Target, and another one for Host.  These actors form the interface between your two systems.  Have the Target-side proxy launch a nested endpoint with a listener protocol (TCP/IP or Network Stream, your choice), and have the Host-side proxy launch an endpoint with an initator protocol.