Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

myRIO to drive digital servo with PWM

Solved!
Go to solution

After scouring the internet for answers, I realized I neglected this resource. 

I'm trying to test some small digital servos that will be used in for a senior design project. When we received the myRIO I created a simple VI to drive a servo using PWM with 50Hz frequency and varying the duty cycle between 5-10%. I used a cheap servo that came with an arduino kit, and it worked perfectly. However, the Blue Bird BMS-385DMAX servos arrived and when I tried one with the VI I made, it didn't work. I've confirmed that the servo works by running it with an arduino, it just doesn't run with the myRIO. I'm not a labview expert, and I'm new to the RIO platform; any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I've attached the project. Ignore the KeyDutyCycle VI and the shared variable; that was something I was experimenting with, but didn't use.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(11,723 Views)

Hi,

In measuring the outputs PWM voltage levels, I find that they sit at about 3.25 volts, which may not be high enough to drive the signal line of the servo. IIRC, the Arduino pushes +5V at the ports, so you might consider doing some level-shifting prior to feeding the servo. Just a thought...

Edd

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(11,708 Views)

Hey rw378,

How are you powering the servo?

Can you elaborate on what you mean when you say it doesn't work.  Is there any movement at all? Does it make noise, etc?

Thanks!

-Sam K

LabVIEW Hacker

Join / Follow the LabVIEW Hacker Group on google+

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(11,666 Views)

I'm using MXP A/PWM0 (pin 27/DIO 8 on breakout board) to output a PWM signal to the signal wire of the servo. I connected the 5V and GND to the positive and negative wires of the servo, repectively. When I run it, the servo does not move at all. If I hold the servo, a slight ticking can be felt.