From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

myRIO sampling rate

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to myRIO and am using it to measure sine wave (0V to 5V) of from 10 Hz upto 20 KHz. I also need to do Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) of the measured signal in real time.

On the FPGA side of things, I am trying to keep things pretty simple, just read from 2 AI channels (Connector B: AI0 and AI1), therefore potentially able to read from each AI at 250 KS/s (as the device has a 500kS/s capability). Does this mean this program gets a data from two analog inputs exactly every 4 microsecond? If not, how do i ensure that the data is acquired at a fixed sampling rate?

FPGA VI snippet.png

I realised that we can add in FFT function in FPGA, but i wanted to manipulte the data acquired from Analog inputs before sending to FFT which i don't know how to do now. Can anyone explain me to how to do arithmetic data operation (muliplication, division and so) over the data acquired from Analog inputs and to reducde the resolution from 12 bits to 10 bits in FPGA program.

Later, i created a program in myRIO to read the 2 analog data from FPGA program that keeps running in a timed loop. In the myRIO program, the timed loop is configured to source type of 1 MHz clock with a time period of 25 microsecond.

Does this configuration mean the loop will run exactly every 25 microsecond?

When i configured the time period less than 10 micro second, myRIO stopped working. Why is that so?

Is it because that myRIO can't run as fast as FPGA?

myRIO target VI snippet.png

Is it advisable to do the FFT of the analog data in myRIO side or FPGA side?