Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modbus

Dear All

I have a modbus master in my block diagram with the following specifications:

BoudRate: 115200

Type: RTU

I want to know if the modbus Write and Read blocks themselves take care about the silence time (3.5Char at the end of the frame) or not? If not how could I do that? and how do I compute the appropriate delay time?

Thanks in Advance

Regards

V.S

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,498 Views)

V.S.,

Are you using the Modbus Library, Modbus API, or the functions that come with LabVIEW 2014 in the Real-Time and DSC module?  Because the silent time is a part of the RTU ADU I would be surprised if you had to do anything extra but it might depend on what Modbus functions you are using.

Matt J | National Instruments | CLA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(6,469 Views)

Dear Jacobson

I am using Modbus library. As you see in the following attached image if I set the "Wait" after each Read operation equal to zero, it cause an error when I run the program.

I should set a value for this "Wait"s depending on the number of "Holding Registers" I read in the previous frame. for example when I am reading one Holding Register in the previous frame I have to wait for 5mS and when I read 10 Holding Registers I have to wait 10mS.

Is it because of the silent time? if not what is the reason of this problem?

Beat Regards

V.S

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(6,455 Views)

V.S.

To be honest, I have no idea.

The Modbus Library is example code though so you should be able to look inside to see if it is.  If I were to guess I would say that the silent time is not the direct cause.  I say this because the Modbus RTU ADU consists of Silence - Address - PDU - CRC - Silence.  I would not think that the number of Holding Registers read would effect the the silence time linearly.  There is still a very good chance that you are correct though