Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulate sine wave using LabVIEW FPGA with NI-myRIO and display on real-time

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am relatively new to LabVIEW FPGA. I'm trying to test (and later implement) high-speed controllers on myRIO.

At this point, I'm trying to simulate 1kHz-10kHz sine wave using Sinewave generator express VI. I also plan to display the sine wave on the real-time (RT) using FIFO. However, I've been having a little difficulty in understaing various timing parameters.

1. How do I encode sampling frequency information while generating sine wave? (The FPGA side vi only requires the signal frequency and possibly phase and does not require loop update rate)

2. How do I estimate the number of elements in a FIFO? (i.e., the relationship among loop update rate (RT), signal frequency, sampling frequency and the number of elements in FIFO)

It'd be great if one could share a very simple program (Host and Target sides) that does something similar.

Thanks,

Mayank

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(6,625 Views)

Mayank,

The sine wave generator express VI will generate data points based on the frequency that you specify and the FPGA clock that you are using. The express VI will change the number of periods (of the sine wave) per tick of the FPGA clock that are generated based on the frequency of the sine wave you are wanting to simulate. These two numbers are linked, meaning if you change the sine wave frequency it will also change the number of periods per tick.