Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI myDAQ Reset?

Hello Everyone!

I am currently a student at ITT, and I was doing a lab for one of my assignments. While I was doing this lab, I had accidently hit "RUN" on the V-DC setting when I had the probes configured for A-DC. When I reconfigured the probes to the correct configuration, I set the NI myDAQ to "Specify Range" and "Run Continuously" and then hit "RUN". Without me connecting the probes to anything or touching anything, and even with the probes not connected to the device, the myDAQ suddenly gave readings from -600.00 mV to ~200.0 mV. I read somewhere that I can reset the device. If so, how can I do this? Many thanks, Derrick.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,076 Views)

Hey Derrick,

If the probes are not connect to anything that means the input are floating (ie nothing connected).  It is hard to predict what will happen in this situation and you'll often read noise.  This is common to most analog and digital input and is one reason that some inputs will have pull up or pull down resistors attached.

If you connect both the red and black probe to ground do you read a smooth 0v?

What if you try to read the voltage from a battery?

It's likely that everything is still working fine, but let us know if the answers the the questions above are not what one would expect.

Thanks!

-Sam K

LabVIEW Hacker

Join / Follow the LabVIEW Hacker Group on google+

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(7,056 Views)

Hello Sammy!

Sorry I havent been able to reply as soon as I should have- I have been quite busy.