Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MyRio analog input

Greetings,

I am new to NI and I have a question about the setting the timing on the analog inputs.  I want to set up a clock (DIO output) and in addition, have ever clock rising edge initiate a single A/D conversion.  Is this possible with the MyRio?

The background is I have a device with a string of sensors that will output a analog value every time I send in a clock, therefore I need to digitize the analog signal synchronized with the clock.

In addition, if someone has found documentation other than the manual, I would appreciate your sharing.

Thanks for the help,

Frank 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(10,748 Views)

Hi Frank,

Welcome to the forums! What you want to do is definitely possible with the myRIO. You have a few options available to you:

If you have the ability to upgrade to LabVIEW 2014, the myRIO 2014 toolkit includes new Interrupt Express VIs. You specify a condition (in your case, a rising digital edge) and a callback VI that executes when this condition is met. The best way to learn about how this works is to take a look at the examples in Example Finder (Help»Find Examples»Toolkits and Modules»myRIO»Interrupt Handling.lvproj.

If you don't have the ability to upgrade to LabVIEW 2014, you could implement something similar yourself by having a loop wait for a rising edge on a digital line by using the Digital Input Express VI and then doing the analog measurement. This method would introduce some jitter because of the overhead associated with the Express VIs. An example snippet of this is below. If you do have access to the FPGA module, I would recommend implementing this logic on the FPGA instead (further below).

triggering.png