Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MyRIO Encoder Drift

I'm new with myRIO and just started hooking it up to a laser for linear positioning measurements. My problem is I'm getting drift when the actuator isn't moving. I'm using the myRIO express VI for encoder measurements. (I have tried using the myRIO advanced IO encoder VI's and I get the same drift problem, but I also get repeated and occasional errors. This seems like a complicating case, not an enlightening one, so I'm going to focus on getting the express VI to work unless someone has a good reason not to work with it).

Unfortunately, I don't have a great datasheet for my laser setup, but from what I can see now I'm getting about 30,000 counts for my full range of movement which is about an inch. I know this because I can see a nice waveform from the encoder outputs when moving from end to end. So that's good - it works overall. However, every few seconds or so - and this isn't a periodic thing, I can't figure out that it happens regularly - the encoder counts will rapidly change value and lose a bunch of counts, usually around 50 or 100 at a time. 'Rapidly' meaning within about 50 counts of my loop running at 1k. Then it will hold steady (or track the motor position if I move things around) until a few more seconds and it will drift again. Sometimes a few drift occurrences will happen in a row, so the difference will be larger and a little slower. What I'm calling drift looks like a step change, not a ramp.

As far as I can tell, the drift is always negative. If I switch the A and B terminals, the drift is always positive. There are some slight components in the opposite direction, but nothing nearly as large/consistent.

If I turn the laser off, the reading is steady with no drift.