Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My xbox 360 controller VI does not work under the MyRio

Under the Myrio project if I place the attached xbox VI under the computer it works when I run it but if I put it under the Myrio it does not work.  Can someone please explain what I am doing wrong.  I am pretty new at this.  Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(7,208 Views)

I get error (-363031) which I understand is the Myrio not recognizing the device.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(7,190 Views)

Hi ils4580,

It is hard to say what might be causing this error. Does the error occur during the deployment process or when the code is running?

Have you verified that you can properly see your myRIO target in NI MAX? 

Is everything wired correctly? 

Does this happen with other devices?

Have you tried running the Joystick Monitoring Project provided with the myRIO toolkit?

Can you provide a screen shot of the error occurring?

JD B.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(7,139 Views)

Yes the Myrio shows up in NI Max.  I have attached some photos of the project with the way it works and the way it doesn't.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(7,118 Views)

This error is occurring because the myRIO can't recognize the Xbox controller. In this instance, it is because the controller is connected to the computer and not the myRIO. Even though the VI is deployed on the myRIO, it can't access the Xbox controller without a direct connection to the controller. If you would like to read the controller commands on a computer and then access those commands on the myRIO, you can use shared variables to send that data to the myRIO.

Here is a white paper on how to implement shared variables:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4679/en/

Here is the manual for shared variables:

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361G-01/lvconcepts/usingdynvarapi/

JD B.
Applications Engineer