Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA Fundamentals (sbRIO9636)

So i finished my first LabVIEW project, compiled the FPGA VI, downloaded it to my FPGA on my target device (sbRIO9636), cut out some of the analog circuitry and components was using and integrated this board into a working prototype... even though that is a huge accomplishment for myself, i still feel very noobish and have so many more questions...

Im starting this thread because im going to be asking sucha broad spectrum of questions that all relate to the topics at hand, but i figured it would be easier to keep it in one place... i dunno im still new to this whole thing =P

Original Question:

Even though my design is working, i still dont fully understand how to prevent loops from consuming too much load from the cpu or if this design is efficient...

GerdW Replied:

On the FPGA target there is no "cpu consuming too much load" problem! The only problem you have is: does the FPGA provide enough slices/fabric for your VI and does it fulfill all timing constraints…

At the time this was all gibberish to me until i did some digging around and this is what i found:

- FPGA Target: NI sbRIO-9636

- FGPA Target Specs: Spartan-6 LX45

• 6,822 slices each containing four 6-input LUTs and eight flip-flops
  • 2.1Mbits of fast block RAM
  • 4 clock tiles (8 DCMs & 4 PLLs)
  • 6 phased-locked loops
  • 58 DSP slices
  • 500MHz+ clock speeds (i thought my board has a 40MHz clock?)

Other Helpful Web References:

Understanding the LabVIEW FPGA Compile System (FPGA Module)

Understanding Timing Considerations for FPGA VIs (FPGA Module)

Optimizing FPGA VIs for Speed and Size (FPGA Module)

Introduction to FPGA Hardware Concepts (FPGA Module)

FPGA Fundamentals

I guess my main question here is as follows:

Is my circuit efficient and if not how to i go about optimizing it?