3D Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Directory for new robot into LabView Hololens app

Hi

I am new to LabVIEW and this new exciting technique and I was wondering if someone could help explain or provide a step by step tutorial of how one can successfully take an OBJ model can create the proper directory structure for a given robot?

below is a link provided by an national Instrument associate and it provides a detailed tutorial of how to convert a CAD model into a OBJ and begins to elaborate on the need to create a directory structure but does not give great details as to how it should be done. Can someone please clearify this and help me create a correct directory structure for a given robot and how to involve it in to LabVIEW as instructed in the forum linked below??

http://forums.ni.com/t5/3D-Vision/OBJ-File-Format-for-3D-Robot-Simulations/gpm-p/3535101

kind regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(4,666 Views)

You'll find below additional detailed information about the use of directories to build a robot as explained in the document you refer to. Hopefully, it will help you.

In any case, I think that the most difficult step is to transform the robot CAD models into the various .obj files corresponding to each axis. If you give me a link where I can find your robot CAD model, or if you post it in this forum, I can take a stab at it and post the files and directory structure back in this forum.

Robot Directory

Overall, I think that the directory structure is simple. You have one directory for the robot. That directory contains one directory per axis. The alphabetical order of the axis directories represents the order on which the axes are mounted on each order (this is the reason why the rail, carrier, and base directories are called "aaarail", "aacarrier", "abase" because the base is mounted on the carrier that is mounted on the rail in the document you referred to).