From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measurement Studio vs LabVIEW Discussion

I am interested in starting some discussion on the advantages/disadvantages of using Measurement Studio instead of LabVIEW for development.  First let me tell you a little about myself.  I have been programming in Visual Basic for 7 years now, and have 2 years of experience with .NET.  I have 8 months of experience using LabVIEW.  Any participation in this discussion is welcome!

1. Which platform do you prefer (LabVIEW/.NET)?
    I prefer using .NET for GUI interaction, as I find LabVIEW more difficult for such a task.
    I prefer using LabVIEW for control process, because I find it extremely easy to execute concurrent tasks, create timed loops, and display debugging data.

2. Why do you use the platform you prefer?
    I have more experience in .NET, and find it to be easier to create the GUI, but I have trouble creating VB code for control.

3. Support
    It seems that there are much much more resources and examples in LabVIEW for control, where can I find resources for VB?

Finally, is anyone using a combination of LabVIEW (control) and .NET (GUI)?  If so, please provide the community with some examples!

Thanks!
CLA, CTA
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(10,192 Views)

HI LVB,

Duplicate post found here.

Best Regards,

Jonathan

Jonathan N.
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(10,144 Views)
As a developer of LabVIEW (i.e., C++), I'm propably not the person you're looking for, but I've done a lot of .NET programming as well (plus Java, etc).